Kyoto Hotels for Muslim Families (2026): Prayer Space, Qibla in the Room, Halal Menus — and December Prices
Checked 2026-10-15
Each stay's Muslim services below are taken from the hotel's own official website (or its group's), checked 15 October 2026. Prices are from Trip.com on 15 October 2026 for 7–11 December, 1 room, 2 adults + 2 children (8 and 5). Hotels whose own sites say nothing about Muslim services are listed at the end, not in the table.
Short answer. 5 groups, 23 stays in Kyoto state on their own sites today what they provide for Muslim guests. A prayer space inside the stay: only SEN Omiya Gojo (a machiya house of the Risshisha group, qibla installed on the ceiling). A certified halal menu: only Le Temps at Hotel Granvia Kyoto (MPJA; bentos ¥5,200–6,200, order 3 days ahead) — but that hotel has no prayer room. Prayer mats and qibla compasses to borrow: MIMARU (7 hotels, each room with a kitchen and Muslim-only utensils), hotel MONday (6 stays) and the 8 Risshisha machiya houses (free mats and prayer clothes). Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto offers halal dishes but says itself it is not certified and its kitchen is shared. For 2 adults + 2 children on 7–11 December, Trip.com shows RM632–1,196 a night.
0. Pick by your plan, in 4 lines
| If you… | Stay at | Prayer / food nearby |
|---|---|---|
| Arrive late or leave early from Kyoto Station | Hotel Granvia Kyoto (connected to the station) — MPJA halal menu at Le Temps 2F, qibla on the room ceiling, mats on request (hotel release, 2023) | Halal ramen 8 minutes from the Hachijo Exit (Honolu, GYUMON) |
| Want to cook | MIMARU (7 hotels: Kyoto Station, Kawaramachi Gojo, Shinmachi Sanjo, Nijo Castle…) or MONday Apart Premium Kyoto Station — in-room kitchen + Muslim-only utensils | Ordinary supermarkets; free prayer room at Yumeyakata Gojo |
| Want to pray inside your stay | SEN Omiya Gojo (Risshisha) — prayer space, qibla on the ceiling, free prayer clothes and mats; sleeps 4 | Kyoto Grand Mosque, 25 minutes by bus |
| Want to be near the mosque | hotel MONday Kyoto Marutamachi or Karasuma Nijo — 2–3 minutes from Marutamachi Station; borrow mats and a compass | Kyoto Grand Mosque (Kojinguchi), halal yakiniku Sudaku |
231 places — halal food, prayer rooms and mosques — in 19 prefectures of Japan, each with its official source and check date. US$6.99, one-time, free updates. See the map →
1. What each stay says, and December prices
| Stay | Area / station | What the official site says | Trip.com, 7–11 Dec, 2 adults + 2 children |
|---|---|---|---|
| Hotel Granvia Kyoto | Connected to JR Kyoto Station (Central Exit) | Café-restaurant Le Temps (2F) is "certified by the Muslim Professionals Japan Association (MPJA)". Halal menu, 5 items: Western bento ¥6,200 (≈ RM160), hamburg teriyaki bento ¥5,200, beef fillet steak ¥5,200, grilled chicken ¥4,200, kids' plate ¥3,700 (≈ RM95) — the two bentos must be ordered 3 days ahead; the others take longer without a reservation. Hotel release of 31 Oct 2023: qibla marked on the ceiling of every room, prayer mats and a Quran on request — no prayer room in the hotel; the hotel "suggests nearby prayer spaces". Breakfast buffet: no mention of halal | RM665 a night (room shown, free cancellation until 3 Dec; RM3,431 for 4 nights incl. tax), rating 9.3 (568 reviews) — see on Trip.com |
| Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto | Karasuma-Takatsuji, 3 min from Shijo Station (subway, Exit 5), 5 min from Kyoto-Kawaramachi (Hankyu) | "Halal food policy" page: "This hotel has not received halal certification from a third-party body." The kitchen is shared with regular cooking ("prohibited substances may be mixed in"); ingredients, seasonings and frying oil without alcohol or pork, but frying oil is shared unless you ask otherwise. Venues: café Ambercourt, teppanyaki Hoen (private bookings only), banquet rooms. Discuss in advance; prices and menus not stated. Mats, qibla: not stated | RM632 a night (free cancellation until 3 Dec, "children stay for free"; RM3,283 for 4 nights), rating 9.1 (220) — see on Trip.com |
| MONday Apart Premium Kyoto Station (hotel MONday group: 6 in Kyoto — Karasuma Nijo, Marutamachi, Kyoto Station, Kyoto Station Kamogawa, Gojo, GRAND MONday Shijo Kawaramachi) | Shichijo-Horikawa, 11 min from Kyoto Station's Central Exit; every room has an induction kitchen | At all hotel MONday stays: prayer mats, qibla compasses and women's prayer clothes to borrow — limited, first come first served. MONday Apart: a halal-only cooking utensil set. The group says it is not a halal-certified hotel; its restaurant breakfast "does not use halal-certified ingredients or dedicated kitchens" | RM834 a night (non-refundable; RM3,669 for 4 nights) or RM1,147 with free cancellation until 29 Nov, rating 9.5 (88) — see on Trip.com |
| MIMARU Kyoto Station (7 MIMARU in Kyoto: Kyoto Station, Kawaramachi Gojo, SUITES Central, Shinmachi Sanjo, Shijo West, Nijo Castle, SUITES Shijo) | 2 min from Kyoto Station's Hachijo Exit | At all MIMARU (group news, 5 Jan 2023): a kitchen in every room, Muslim-only kitchen utensils (knife, chopping board, some dishes), prayer mats and qibla compasses to borrow — limited, contact the hotel before arrival. Prayer room and halal food: not stated | RM1,196 a night (apartment for 4; RM5,426 for 4 nights), rating 9.8 (51) — see on Trip.com. MIMARU Kyoto Shinmachi Sanjo: RM739 a night non-refundable (RM3,252), 9.5 — Trip.com |
| SEN Omiya Gojo (Risshisha group: 8 "Muslim Friendly" machiya houses — SEN Omiya Gojo, SEN Shichijo Mibu, SEN Toji-Uomitsu, Shisei-Juku, Mibu-Juku, Satoi Tessen / Seishi / Kosetsu) | Omiya-Gojo, 9 min from Omiya Station (Hankyu); one group per day | "At SEN Omiya Gojo, there is a prayer space, and Qibla direction is installed at the ceiling." The other houses get a qibla compass. Free prayer clothes and mats at every house; wudu in the bathroom. Halal dinner delivered ("Hiroshi": sukiyaki with "Halal Wagyu" slaughtered at halal-certified factories, seafood hot pot; Muslim-only utensils and tableware) and Japanese breakfast — book a no-meal plan, then email. Prices and booking deadlines not stated | RM931 a night (the whole house for 4, free cancellation until 29 Nov; RM4,095 for 4 nights), rating 9.0 (21) — see on Trip.com |
| Shisei-Juku (Risshisha) | Omiya-Gojo, 9 min from Omiya Station (Hankyu), 10 min from JR Tambaguchi; 3 rooms | Same as above (qibla compass, free prayer clothes and mats, halal meals delivered). No dedicated prayer space | RM712 a night (free cancellation until 22 Nov; RM3,132 for 4 nights), rating 9.0 (21) — see on Trip.com |
Prices change daily; the nightly price is the display for the cheapest room that sleeps 4, the 4-night total includes tax. Rate ¥100 = RM2.576 (ECB, 14 Oct 2026).
Whose official sites say nothing about Muslim services (checked 15 October 2026)
Kyoto Tower Hotel (Nidec Kyoto Tower's own floor guide lists no prayer room on 3F either), THE THOUSAND KYOTO, Kyoto Century Hotel (its FAQ gives only a general answer about "religious restrictions"; its former halal restaurant is no longer listed), Kyoto Brighton Hotel, Hotel Okura Kyoto, RIHGA Royal Hotel Kyoto, ANA Crowne Plaza Kyoto, Miyako Hotel Kyoto Hachijo, Hotel Keihan Kyoto Grande, Daiwa Roynet Hotel Kyoto Hachijoguchi, Mitsui Garden Hotel Kyoto Shijo, Kyoto Garden Palace, Dormy Inn Premium Kyoto Ekimae, Hotel Vischio Kyoto, Hotel Emion Kyoto, Kyoto Tokyu Hotel, Noku Kyoto, Hotel Resol Kyoto Kawaramachi Sanjo, HOTEL MYSTAYS Kyoto Shijo, Kyoto Plaza Hotel and Soraniwa Terrace Kyoto Bettei. Kyoto Traveler's Inn only says it keeps a list of halal restaurants at the front desk. The sites of Hyatt Regency Kyoto, Hyatt Place Kyoto, Hotel Kanra Kyoto, Agora Kyoto, Sakura Terrace The Gallery and Kyoto Yura Hotel could not be opened — unverified.
Kyoto City's official travel guide (kyoto.travel, undated) lists 6 "Muslim Friendly / Muslim Welcome" hotels (Granvia, Hyatt Regency, Century, Okura, Traveler's Inn, RIHGA Royal) — but only Granvia writes it on its own site. Ask the others in writing before you book.
2. Prayer rooms and halal food nearby
From the official pages of the mosque, restaurants and venues (or Kyoto City's official travel guide), checked 28 September–1 October 2026. Full Kyoto list: Halal food & prayer rooms in Kyoto.
- Kyoto Station: Le Temps (Hotel Granvia Kyoto 2F, Central Exit) has an MPJA-certified halal menu — Halal Kids Plate ¥3,700 (≈ RM95); the restaurant also sells alcohol, so order from the halal menu. 8 minutes' walk from the Hachijo Exit: Halal Honolu Premier (ramen) and GYUMON Kyoto (wagyu ramen & gyukatsu).
- Mosque: Kyoto Grand Mosque (Kyoto Muslim Association), Kojinguchi, near the Imperial Palace — underground prayer hall, separate wudu for men and women; Friday prayers 12:30 / 13:00.
- Free prayer spaces at sights: Yumeyakata (kimono rental, Gojo and Oike — a small room for 1–5 people with mat and qibla), kokoka Kyoto International Community House (Okazaki, 9:00–21:00, closed Mondays), Nijo Castle (ask at the office), Toei Kyoto Studio Park, and the free prayer room next to OAGARI Arashiyama (no booking).
- Arashiyama: Arashiyama Yoshiya is certified by the Kyoto Halal Council (since 2016), with men's and women's prayer rooms for diners.
3. Traps
- Only one stay has a prayer space. Kyoto Grand Mosque is the city's only mosque; apart from SEN Omiya Gojo you pray in your room (qibla on the ceiling at Granvia, a compass at MIMARU / MONday / Risshisha) or in the free prayer rooms at sights.
- "Halal menu" is not "halal hotel". Le Temps (Granvia) is MPJA-certified but the restaurant also sells alcohol, and the hotel's breakfast buffet is not described as halal. Nikko Princess says itself it is not certified and shares its frying oil. Risshisha says its beef is slaughtered at halal-certified factories but names no certificate for the delivery restaurant.
- Granvia's halal bentos need 3 days. The two bentos (¥5,200 and ¥6,200) must be ordered 3 days ahead; the steak, chicken and kids' plate take longer without a reservation. Call Le Temps directly (075-342-5525).
- Prayer items can run out. MIMARU and hotel MONday lend them first come first served — ask when you book. MIMARU asks you to contact the hotel you booked before arrival.
- Granvia's qibla is a 2023 release. The hotel's website today does not mention it; we quote the official release of 31 October 2023. Confirm at check-in.
- Premium Apart MONday Kyoto Gojo is not named on the group's Muslim-friendly page (only the brand); the halal utensil set is stated for "MONday Apart" — confirm with that stay.
- Kyoto's accommodation tax went up on 1 March 2026: ¥200–10,000 per person per night depending on the room rate; the Trip.com totals above already include it. Details: Kyoto accommodation tax 2026.
Full map (paid): 231 halal places to eat, prayer rooms and mosques in 19 prefectures of Japan — each with an official source and a check date. See it here.
Services change: confirm with the hotel in writing before you book.
Links in this article may be affiliate links (Trip.com, Klook). The price you pay does not change.
Sources
- Official sites: Hotel Granvia Kyoto / JR West Hotels (Le Temps halal menu — 2026 prices; release of 31 October 2023 on the ceiling qibla and prayer mats); Hotel Nikko Princess Kyoto ("Halal food policy"); hotel MONday ("Muslim friendly", Kyoto hotel list); MIMARU ("Muslim friendly", 5 January 2023, and each Kyoto hotel's page); Risshisha Group ("Muslim friendly", house list and the SEN Omiya Gojo / Shisei-Juku / Mibu-Juku pages) — checked 15 October 2026
- Official sites of the 20 hotels that do not mention Muslim services (list in §1) and Kyoto Traveler's Inn — checked 15 October 2026
- Kyoto City Official Travel Guide (kyoto.travel): Muslim hotel list and "free spaces for Muslims to perform prayers" (undated) — checked 15 October 2026
- Kyoto Muslim Association (mosque), Le Temps, Honolu Premier, GYUMON, Arashiyama Yoshiya, OAGARI, Nijo Castle, Toei Kyoto Studio Park — checked 28 September–1 October 2026
- Trip.com prices: 15 October 2026, for 7–11 December 2026, 1 room, 2 adults + 2 children (8 and 5). Klook prices: 15 October 2026
- Exchange rate: ECB reference rate, 14 October 2026 (¥100 = RM2.576)
Book for this trip
Affiliate links may be used; your price does not change.
- Hotel Granvia Kyoto (MPJA halal menu, connected to the station), 7–11 Dec, 2 adults + 2 children, RM665 a night (checked 15 Oct 2026): see on Trip.com
- SEN Omiya Gojo (prayer space, qibla on the ceiling, whole house for 4), same dates, RM931 a night: see on Trip.com
- MIMARU Kyoto Station (kitchen, Muslim-only utensils), same dates, RM1,196 a night: see on Trip.com
- All Kyoto hotels for 2 adults + 2 children, 7–11 Dec: Trip.com search
- Kansai Airport → Kyoto on the JR Haruka (rating 4.8, 47K reviews, checked 15 Oct 2026): tickets on Klook
- Kyoto subway + bus 1-day ticket (rating 4.5): on Klook