Halal Food in Tokyo After 9pm (2026): Shinjuku, Shibuya, Asakusa–Ueno, Tokyo Station, with Closing Times and Where to Pray Isha
Checked 2026-11-05 · Updated 2026-11-05
Checked 5 Nov 2026 on each shop's or chain's official page (GYUMON, SHINJUKU-TEI, Ninja Yakiniku, Shunpudou, PANGA, Nikunotakumi Shoutaian, Asset Frontier for Honolu), the Nippon Asia Halal Association list and Tokyo Camii. Only places already in our Tokyo halal food guide and halal ramen guide are listed; nothing new was added. Status is written in the source's own words. I read the label; you decide.
Short answer. After 21:00 the choice depends on where your hotel is. Shinjuku has one place on our list open late: GYUMON Shinjuku East Exit, to 23:30, 16 seats. Shibuya has two GYUMON shops to 23:00. Asakusa–Ueno has the most, with Ninja Yakiniku to 23:00 and five more places to 22:00 or 23:00. Near Tokyo Station, Shoutaian in Kanda takes last orders at 22:30 and is the one place here whose certifying body is named. Every SHINJUKU-TEI branch closes at 21:00, except Shimbashi (22:00). For prayer, Tokyo Camii closes at 18:00, and on 5 Nov its own prayer table put Isha at 18:05. After 21:00, the only restaurant on the list with its own prayer room is Ninja Yakiniku Asakusa. Checked 5 Nov 2026.
231 places — halal food, prayer rooms and mosques — in 19 prefectures of Japan, each with its official source and check date. US$6.99, one-time, free updates. See the map →
1. Open after 21:00, by area
Most shops publish a closing time but no last order. Where a last order (LO) is published, it is shown. "Station" is the source's own wording; "not stated" means the shop's page doesn't give one.
Status, in the source's own words:
- Halal-certified: the certifying body is named.
- Halal-stated: the shop says halal or "halal certified" but names no body.
- Halal ingredients: the shop says it uses halal-certified ingredients, with no claim that the restaurant itself is certified.
Shinjuku
| Place | Status (source's words) | Hours (official) | Station | Source, checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GYUMON Shinjuku East Exit (ramen) | Halal-stated: the group says ingredients, seasonings and cooking are "fully Halal certified" (no body named) | 12:00–23:30; 16 seats; LO and closing days not stated | Shinjuku, 3 min | GYUMON, 5 Nov 2026 |
| SHINJUKU-TEI Shinjuku | Halal-stated: "100% Halal Food" | 12:00–21:00; "may close early if we sell out" | Not stated | SHINJUKU-TEI, 5 Nov 2026 |
| Menya Honolu Shinjuku-gyoemmae | Halal-stated: the operator says all shops are certified (no body named); JIT certifies its soup and noodles as products | 11:30–14:30, 17:00–21:00 | Not stated | Asset Frontier, 5 Nov 2026 |
Shibuya (and Ebisu)
| Place | Status (source's words) | Hours (official) | Station | Source, checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| GYUMON Yakiniku Shibuya | Halal-stated: "fully Halal certified" (no body named) | 12:00–23:00 | Shibuya, 5 min | GYUMON, 5 Nov 2026 |
| GYUMON Shibuya Scramble (ramen) | Halal-stated: same | 12:00–23:00 | Shibuya, 1 min | GYUMON, 5 Nov 2026 |
| GYUMON "Harajuku" (Jinnan, ramen) | Halal-stated: same | 12:00–22:00 | Shibuya, 5 min | GYUMON, 5 Nov 2026 |
| Menya Honolu Ebisu | Halal-stated: as Honolu above | 11:30–15:00, 17:00–21:30 | Not stated | Asset Frontier, 5 Nov 2026 |
| SHINJUKU-TEI Shibuya | Halal-stated: "100% Halal Food" | 12:00–21:00 | Not stated | SHINJUKU-TEI, 5 Nov 2026 |
Asakusa–Ueno
| Place | Status (source's words) | Hours (official) | Station | Source, checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ninja Yakiniku Asakusa (wagyu yakiniku) | Halal-stated: "100% halal certified restaurant" (no body named) | 11:00–23:00, "Open every day"; prayer room | Not stated | Ninja Yakiniku, 5 Nov 2026 |
| PANGA (wagyu, Shin-Okachimachi) | Halal-stated: says it obtained halal certification (no body named) | Dinner 17:00–23:00, LO 22:00, every day; lunch Mon–Sat. The site says its updates moved to Google in 2024, so hours may be out of date | Shin-Okachimachi A2, 3 min | PANGA, 5 Nov 2026 |
| GYUMON Asakusa Kaminarimon (ramen) | Halal-stated: "fully Halal certified" (no body named) | 12:00–22:00 | Asakusa, 2 min | GYUMON, 5 Nov 2026 |
| GYUMON Asakusa (ramen) | Halal-stated: same | 12:00–22:00 | Asakusa, 8 min | GYUMON, 5 Nov 2026 |
| GYUMON Ueno (ramen) | Halal-stated: same | 12:00–22:00 | Ueno, 3 min | GYUMON, 5 Nov 2026 |
| Shunpudou | Halal ingredients: "We only use Halal-certified ingredients", no alcohol | 11:00–22:00; no closing day | Not stated | Shunpudou, 5 Nov 2026 |
| SHINJUKU-TEI Asakusa, SHINJUKU-TEI Ueno Park | Halal-stated: "100% Halal Food" | 12:00–21:00 | Not stated | SHINJUKU-TEI, 5 Nov 2026 |
| Honolu Asakusa | Halal-stated: as Honolu above | 11:30–21:00, LO 20:30 | Not stated | Asset Frontier, 5 Nov 2026 |
Tokyo Station area (Kanda, Ginza, Shimbashi, Akihabara)
| Place | Status (source's words) | Hours (official) | Station | Source, checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Nikunotakumi Shoutaian Kanda (wagyu yakiniku) | Halal-certified: on the Nippon Asia Halal Association (NAHA) list | Lunch daily 11:30–14:00; dinner daily 17:00–23:00, LO 22:30; irregular closing days | Shin-Nihombashi exit 4, 3 min; Kanda, 4 min | Shoutaian and NAHA, 5 Nov 2026 |
| GYUMON Ginza (ramen) | Halal-stated: "fully Halal certified" (no body named) | 12:00–22:00 | Ginza, 5 min | GYUMON, 5 Nov 2026 |
| SHINJUKU-TEI Shimbashi | Halal-stated: "No pork, no alcohol. 100% Halal Wagyu Ramen" | 12:00–22:00; closes irregularly (see its Instagram) | JR Shimbashi, 3 min | SHINJUKU-TEI, 5 Nov 2026 |
| Honolu Grande Akihabara | Halal-stated: as Honolu above | 11:30–21:30 | Not stated | Asset Frontier, 5 Nov 2026 |
Inside Tokyo Station and Marunouchi themselves, our guide found no restaurant with a halal statement on an official page.
2. Isha in the evening: where you can pray
| Option | What the source says | Hours | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tokyo Camii (Yoyogi-Uehara, Shibuya-ku) | Daily 10:00–18:00. On 5 Nov, its own prayer table showed Maghrib 16:43 and Isha 18:05, after closing | 10:00–18:00 | 5 Nov 2026 |
| Masjid As-Salaam (Okachimachi, between Ueno and Akihabara) | "Five daily prayers"; iqamah times on the mosque's prayer page. Opening hours not stated | Not stated | 28 Sept 2026 |
| Masjid Dar-Al-Arqam (Higashi-Asakusa) | Friday khutbah 12:30, jamaat 12:45; other hours not stated | Not stated | 28 Sept 2026 |
| Tokyo Station prayer room (JR EAST Travel Service Center, Marunouchi North exit) | About 2 people, wudu facility, ask via the intercom | 10:00–17:00 | 15 Oct 2026 |
| SHINJUKU-TEI branches | The chain's Halal Policy says every branch has a wudu area and prayer space. The Shimbashi page itself doesn't list it | Shop hours, to 21:00 (Shimbashi 22:00) | 27 Oct 2026 |
| Ninja Yakiniku Asakusa | "Prayer room Available" | Shop hours, to 23:00 | 5 Nov 2026 |
How to use it: the mosques with published hours shut before Isha, and Shinjuku and Shibuya department stores list no prayer room on their official pages (checked 2 and 15 Oct 2026). For Isha out in town, the practical choice is to eat at SHINJUKU-TEI before 21:00 and pray there, or Ninja Yakiniku in Asakusa until 23:00. Otherwise, pray at the hotel before you go out.
3. Three evenings, by hotel area
- Hotel in Shinjuku: pray Isha and eat at SHINJUKU-TEI Shinjuku before 21:00. After that, GYUMON Shinjuku East Exit (to 23:30) has only 16 seats, so expect a queue with a family of four.
- Hotel in Asakusa or Ueno: Ninja Yakiniku (to 23:00) is the one place to eat and pray in one stop after 21:00. For ramen, GYUMON Asakusa, Asakusa Kaminarimon or Ueno run to 22:00.
- Hotel near Tokyo Station or Ginza: Shoutaian Kanda (LO 22:30) is the only place on the list with a named certifying body. GYUMON Ginza and SHINJUKU-TEI Shimbashi run to 22:00.
4. Not verified (5 Nov 2026)
- Last orders: not published by GYUMON, SHINJUKU-TEI, Ninja Yakiniku, Shunpudou or the Honolu shops in Akihabara and Ebisu.
- Closing days: not stated by GYUMON, SHINJUKU-TEI or Honolu. Shoutaian Kanda and SHINJUKU-TEI Shimbashi close on irregular days.
- PANGA: its site says updates moved to Google in 2024, so the hours on its own page may be out of date.
- Nearest station: not stated for Ninja Yakiniku, Shunpudou, the Honolu shops or most SHINJUKU-TEI branches.
- Opening hours of Masjid As-Salaam and Dar-Al-Arqam outside prayer times: not stated.
- Tokyo Camii on Fridays: its Japanese page says non-Muslim visitors from 14:30, its English page from 14:00.
Status can change; confirm at the shop before you eat. When an official page changes, this article gets updated.
Further reading: Tokyo halal food by area · halal ramen in Tokyo · prayer rooms in Tokyo.
Links in this article may be affiliate links (Trip.com). The price you pay doesn't change.
Sources
All checked 5 November 2026 unless stated. Next check: 5 December 2026.
| # | Source | Used for | URL | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | GYUMON, Shinjuku East Exit | 12:00–23:30, 16 seats, Shinjuku 3 min | https://gyumon-group.com/shop/ramen-shinjuku-chuohigashiguchi/ | 5 Nov 2026 |
| 2 | GYUMON, Yakiniku Shibuya | 12:00–23:00, Shibuya 5 min | https://gyumon-group.com/shop/yakiniku-shibuya/ | 5 Nov 2026 |
| 3 | GYUMON, Shibuya Scramble | 12:00–23:00, Shibuya 1 min | https://gyumon-group.com/shop/ramen-shibuya-centergai/ | 5 Nov 2026 |
| 4 | GYUMON, Jinnan ("Harajuku") | 12:00–22:00, Shibuya 5 min | https://gyumon-group.com/shop/ramen-shibuya-jinnan/ | 5 Nov 2026 |
| 5 | GYUMON, Asakusa Kaminarimon | 12:00–22:00, Asakusa 2 min | https://gyumon-group.com/shop/ramen-asakusa-kaminarimon/ | 5 Nov 2026 |
| 6 | GYUMON, Asakusa | 12:00–22:00, Asakusa 8 min | https://gyumon-group.com/shop/ramen-asakusa/ | 5 Nov 2026 |
| 7 | GYUMON, Ueno | 12:00–22:00, Ueno 3 min | https://gyumon-group.com/shop/ramen-ueno/ | 5 Nov 2026 |
| 8 | GYUMON, Ginza | 12:00–22:00, Ginza 5 min | https://gyumon-group.com/shop/ramen-ginza/ | 5 Nov 2026 |
| 9 | GYUMON group, about | "Fully Halal certified" ingredients, seasonings and cooking (no body named) | https://gyumon-group.com/about/ | 5 Nov 2026 |
| 10 | SHINJUKU-TEI, official site and branch pages | 12:00–21:00 (Shimbashi 12:00–22:00); "100% Halal Food" | https://www.halal-shinjukutei.com/ | 5 Nov 2026 |
| 11 | SHINJUKU-TEI, Shimbashi | 12:00–22:00, closes irregularly, JR Shimbashi 3 min | https://www.halal-shinjukutei.com/shimbashi-store | 5 Nov 2026 |
| 12 | SHINJUKU-TEI, Halal Policy | Wudu area and prayer space at every branch | https://www.halal-shinjukutei.com/halal-policy | 27 Oct 2026 |
| 13 | Ninja Yakiniku Asakusa, official site and FAQ | 11:00–23:00, every day; "100% halal certified restaurant"; prayer room | https://ninjayakiniku.com/faqs/ | 5 Nov 2026 |
| 14 | PANGA, official site | Dinner 17:00–23:00, LO 22:00; Shin-Okachimachi A2 3 min | https://www.wagyu-panga.jp/ | 5 Nov 2026 |
| 15 | Shunpudou, official site | 11:00–22:00, no closing day; halal-certified ingredients | https://www.shunpudou.com/ | 5 Nov 2026 |
| 16 | Nikunotakumi Shoutaian, Kanda | Lunch and dinner daily, LO 22:30; stations | https://shoutaian.co.jp/nikunotakumi/store/kanda/ | 5 Nov 2026 |
| 17 | Nippon Asia Halal Association, halal list | "HALAL Wagyu Yakiniku SHOUTAIAN" listed | http://web.nipponasia-halal.org/archives/category/products | 5 Nov 2026 |
| 18 | Asset Frontier, Honolu | Hours of Asakusa, Akihabara, Shinjuku-gyoemmae and Ebisu; certification statement | https://assetfrontier.net/service/honolu/ | 5 Nov 2026 |
| 19 | Tokyo Camii, visit (Japanese) | Daily 10:00–18:00; prayer table of 5 Nov: Maghrib 16:43, Isha 18:05 | https://tokyocamii.org/ja/visit/ | 5 Nov 2026 |
| 20 | As-Salaam Foundation | Five daily prayers; iqamah on its prayer page | https://assalaamfoundation.jp/access/ | 28 Sept 2026 |
| 21 | Islamic Circle of Japan, Masjid Dar-Al-Arqam | Friday khutbah 12:30, jamaat 12:45 | https://islaminjapan.org/masajid-under-management-of-islamic-circle-of-japan/masjid-darul-arqam/ | 28 Sept 2026 |
| 22 | Our Tokyo prayer rooms article | Tokyo Station prayer room 10:00–17:00 (JR East, 15 Oct 2026); department stores in Shinjuku and Shibuya | /prayer-rooms-in-tokyo-station-skytree-mosques/ | 15 Oct 2026 |
Book for this trip
Affiliate links may be used; your price doesn't change.
- Stay where the late halal places are, Asakusa (Ninja Yakiniku to 23:00, three GYUMON shops to 22:00), price on the day you open it: Asakusa hotels for 2 adults + 2 children on Trip.com
- Shinjuku (one late halal-stated place, GYUMON to 23:30): Shinjuku hotels for 2 adults + 2 children on Trip.com
- Near Tokyo Station and Kanda (Shoutaian, LO 22:30): Tokyo Station hotels for 2 adults + 2 children on Trip.com
Before you fly: Map of 231 halal places & prayer rooms (US$6.99) — December Edition, 15 Nov.