Halal in Japan: The 3 Labels, and What You Can Actually Pick Up at 7-Eleven, FamilyMart and Lawson
Checked 2026-09-05
Written by Tanya Jepun — a Japanese guy living in Malaysia. I'm not Muslim. I read the label; you decide. Every fact was checked on 5 September 2026 with a source link. When something changes, I update it here.
Short answer. Japan has no government halal body like JAKIM. The word "halal" in Japan comes as three very different labels: halal certified, muslim-friendly, and pork-free. The three biggest konbini chains (7-Eleven, FamilyMart, Lawson) hold no halal certification at all. So at a konbini, the only tool you have is the ingredient list on the back of the packet. This article teaches you the 12 words that matter.
1. Why "halal" in Japan doesn't work like it does in Malaysia
In Malaysia, one JAKIM logo settles it. In Japan, there is no single logo. Certification is done by private bodies. A few Japanese bodies appear on JAKIM's list of recognised foreign certification bodies (list effective 21 August 2026; checked 3 Sept 2026, link below). Other restaurants use "halal" or "muslim-friendly" on their own initiative, with no body behind it.
What that means: the word "halal" on a signboard in Japan is not proof. The question to ask is, "halal of which kind?"
2. The three labels you will meet
| Label | What it usually means | What it does not guarantee |
|---|---|---|
| Halal certified | A certificate from a body such as the Japan Halal Association (recognised by JAKIM). Halal-slaughtered meat. No alcohol in the ingredients. Separate kitchen | Check which body issued it, and whether it is on JAKIM's list |
| Muslim-friendly | No pork. Halal meat options available | Mirin or sake may be used in cooking. Shared kitchen equipment. Alcohol may be served to other customers |
| Pork-free / no pork no alcohol | No pork, that's all | No guarantee of halal slaughter. No guarantee against cross-contamination |
I won't tell you which label is "enough". Every Malaysian family I know draws the line in a different place. What I can do is tell you what sits behind each label, so you decide with your eyes open.
The tools I use to find restaurants by label type: Halal Gourmet Japan (1,130+ restaurants and 310+ prayer spaces listed, filter by label type; checked 3 Sept 2026) and Halal Navi. Both are free.
3. Konbini: the fact I want you to hear first
7-Eleven, FamilyMart and Lawson have no halal certification. No halal shelf, no halal-logo products. Three separate sources agree (Halal Navi, halaljapan.app, Paulonia; checked 3 and 5 Sept 2026). Halal Navi also reports that as of May 2026, 7-Eleven does not run a halal section in any store.
So the best any konbini item can be is "no pork, no alcohol on the label". Not "halal certified". I don't use the word "halal" for konbini food, and I'd ask you to be careful with it too when you share on social media.
Two more things:
- Counter fried chicken (Famichiki at FamilyMart, L-Chiki at Lawson, 7-Eleven's fried chicken) is cooked in fryers shared with other products. The chicken is not halal-slaughtered either (Halal Navi, checked 5 Sept 2026).
- Bento boxes and hot food (oden, steamed buns) almost always use mirin or sake, or contain sausage and ham. This is where most Malaysian travellers slip.
4. How to read a label in 60 seconds
This is the part where being Japanese helps. Japan's food labelling law (Food Labelling Standards, Consumer Affairs Agency) fixes the same format for every product:
- Turn the packet over. Find the box titled 原材料名 (ingredients).
- Ingredients are listed by weight, biggest first.
- Everything after the slash / is an additive.
- Allergens sit on a separate line (for example 卵 egg, 乳 milk, 小麦 wheat, えび shrimp).
- Can't read it? Point Google Lens at the box. It translates live.
Red: pork. Put it back.
| Japanese | Reading | Means |
|---|---|---|
| 豚肉 | butaniku | pork |
| 豚脂 / ラード | tonshi / rādo | pork fat / lard |
| 豚骨 | tonkotsu | pork bone (ramen broth) |
| ベーコン / ハム / ソーセージ | bēkon / hamu / sōsēji | bacon / ham / sausage (usually pork) |
Red: alcohol. Put it back.
| Japanese | Reading | Means |
|---|---|---|
| 酒精 | shusei | ethanol used as a preservative (very common in seasoned fillings) |
| アルコール | arukōru | alcohol |
| みりん | mirin | sweet rice wine for cooking |
| 料理酒 / 清酒 / 日本酒 | ryōrishu / seishu / nihonshu | cooking sake / sake |
| 発酵調味料 | hakkō chōmiryō | "fermented seasoning", often contains alcohol |
Amber: source not stated. Many travellers skip these.
| Japanese | Reading | Means |
|---|---|---|
| ゼラチン | zerachin | gelatin (often pork unless it says 魚, fish) |
| 乳化剤 | nyūkazai | emulsifier (plant or animal, not stated) |
| ショートニング | shōtoningu | shortening (plant or animal fat) |
| 動物油脂 | dōbutsu yushi | animal fat |
| チキンエキス / 肉エキス | chikin ekisu / niku ekisu | chicken / meat extract (the chicken is not halal-slaughtered) |
Grey: opinions differ. I just tell you it's there.
- 醤油 shōyu (soy sauce): naturally fermented, trace alcohol. Many accept it, some avoid it.
- 香料 kōryō (flavouring): may use alcohol as a carrier. Usually accepted, some avoid it.
5. What usually passes (still read the label)
This is the list Halal Navi checked in June 2026 (not my own check; I will check three labels myself on my next trip and update here):
- Salt onigiri (塩むすび) or kombu onigiri (昆布)
- Grilled salmon onigiri (焼鮭) — check for みりん
- Plain boiled egg (not the seasoned 味付け one)
- Plain white rice pack (ingredients: rice and water only)
- Cut fruit, unsweetened soy milk (無調整豆乳), unflavoured roasted nuts, edamame
Recipes change without notice. The official 7-Eleven and FamilyMart sites show allergens only, not full ingredient lists. So the label in the shop is the only way. Check every time, even for the same product.
6. So how do you plan meals in Japan?
- You only accept halal certified → Filter for "certified" on Halal Gourmet Japan before the trip. Pack some dry food for days with a tight schedule. At the konbini, stick to the simplest items: fruit, water, plain rice packs.
- You accept muslim-friendly → Tokyo, Osaka and Kyoto have plenty. Ask the restaurant about mirin and shared equipment. Outside the big cities, options thin out fast.
- You're comfortable reading labels yourself → The konbini becomes your 24-hour friend. Save the cheat sheet below and keep Google Lens ready.
- First trip with the family and you don't want to think about it at all → A Malaysian agency package with meals arranged. I compare package prices against DIY in [this article](/japan-trip-budget-malaysia-2026/).
I'll update this article when JAKIM's list of certification bodies changes, when any konbini announces certified products, or after I check labels myself on my next trip.
Links in this article may be affiliate links (Klook, Trip.com, Airalo). The price you pay doesn't change; it helps me keep updating the numbers every month.
Sources
- JAKIM list of recognised foreign halal certification bodies (21 August 2026): https://www.halal.gov.my/pdf/cb/FHCB21August2026.pdf
- Halal Navi, konbini items checked (June 2026): https://www.halal-navi.com/blog/en/halal-safe-food-7-eleven-lawson-familymart-japan/
- Halal Navi, 7-Eleven Japan (2026): https://www.halal-navi.com/blog/en/7-eleven-halal/
- halaljapan.app, konbini guide (2026): https://halaljapan.app/guides/halal-konbini-japan/
- Paulonia, konbini snack list: https://paulonia.tokyo/useful-for-travel/list-of-halal-snacks-at-japanese-conbini/
- Halal Gourmet Japan: https://www.halalgourmet.jp/
- Consumer Affairs Agency of Japan, Food Labelling Standards: https://www.caa.go.jp/policies/policy/food_labeling/food_labeling_act/
Booking links
Affiliate links may be used; your price doesn't change.
- Flights and hotels: Trip.com
- Tours and theme park tickets: Klook
- Free: the "Read a Japanese food label in 60 seconds" sheet — sign up here
Who wrote this
Tanya Jepun — Japanese, living in Malaysia. I read Japanese labels and official pages, check prices, and cite sources with dates. I'm not Muslim; for halal, I tell you what's in the ingredients — you decide.
How this article was made
Prices were taken from the agencies' and operators' official pages on the date shown, re-checked by me, and drafted with AI assistance. Numbers that couldn't be confirmed are written as ranges. When a price changes, I update it here.