Hokkaido in Winter with Muslim Kids: Halal Food & Prayer Rooms Outside Sapporo
Checked 2026-10-09
Every place below is from its own official site or Hokkaido Airports' pages, checked 1 October 2026. Status is written as the source says it: "all meat halal" is never written as "halal certified". I read the label; you decide. For Sapporo itself: 15 places around Sapporo Station, Susukino and New Chitose.
Short answer. Outside Sapporo, halal options are few and need planning. In Niseko, the Taj Mahal group has 3 restaurants and 1 food truck (December–March only); the group says all its meat is halal and marks halal dishes on the menu, but beer and wine are served. In Otaru, the Kourakuen ryokan serves halal kaiseki (¥7,000–10,000 + tax) with a separate kitchen area and utensils — book at least 3 days ahead. To pray: New Chitose, Asahikawa and Hakodate airports, Farm Tomita in Furano, and Sapporo Masjid. No restaurant in Hokkaido names a certifying body, and no halal grocery could be confirmed — bring food.
0. Plan your days outside Sapporo in 3 lines
| Trip | Eat | Pray |
|---|---|---|
| Skiing in Niseko | Taj Mahal Hirafu, Annupuri or Kutchan — choose dishes marked "Halal" | Niseko's official tourism sites mention no prayer room: pray where you stay |
| A day in Otaru | Halal kaiseki at Kourakuen (book 3 days ahead) or bring food | No Otaru prayer room in this map — plan to pray where you stay or in Sapporo |
| Asahikawa / Furano / Biei tour | Most tours stop at ordinary restaurants — bring food | Farm Tomita (Hanabito House 2F), Asahikawa Airport 2F |
A winter day tour from Sapporo to Asahiyama Zoo (penguin walk) and Ningle Terrace: from RM194.15 on Klook (rated 4.7, checked 9 Oct 2026); check the meal stop in the tour details.
231 places — halal food, prayer rooms and mosques — in 19 prefectures of Japan, each with its official source and check date. US$6.99, one-time, free updates. See the map →
1. By area
| Place | Area | Status (as the source says) | Hours |
|---|---|---|---|
| Taj Mahal Niseko Hirafu | Niseko Hirafu | The group says all meat is halal; halal dishes marked on the menu (body not named); beer & wine served; kids' set (6 and under) marked Halal | 11:30–21:00; closed Wednesdays |
| Taj Express Food Truck No.1 | Middle Hirafu, beside Taj Mahal Hirafu | As above; ski season only (December–March) | Daily hours not stated |
| Taj Mahal Niseko Annupuri | Near the Annupuri slopes | As above | 11:30–21:00; closed Mondays |
| Taj Mahal Kutchan | Kutchan town | As above | 11:00–22:00; closed Tuesdays |
| Otaru Kourakuen (Asarigawa Onsen) | Otaru | The onsen ryokan says it uses halal-certified ingredients and meat, a separate kitchen area and utensils, and no alcohol for Muslim meals (body not named); kaiseki ¥7,000–10,000 + tax; for overnight guests and, by booking, day dining | Book ≥ 3 days ahead |
2. Prayer
- New Chitose Airport: separate rooms for men and women on 2F of the International Terminal Building, with small washing facilities and direction signs. The official page doesn't say whether they are before or after security (official page).
- Asahikawa Airport: prayer rooms on 2F, open while the terminal is open (7:30–20:30) (official page).
- Hakodate Airport: a prayer room in the international departure lounge only (after security), 8:00–19:30 (official page).
- Farm Tomita (Nakafurano): a prayer room on 2F of Hanabito House; December–early April 10:00–16:00. Washing facilities and men/women separation are not stated (official page).
- Sapporo Masjid (Kita-ku): Friday khutbah 12:15, iqamah 12:45; women can attend Friday prayer in the women's room on 4F; no parking; the congregational schedule is set monthly (official page).
3. Traps
- Taj Mahal: not every dish is marked "Halal" (e.g. seafood and some sets) — choose the marked ones.
- Kourakuen also serves non-halal food to other guests; ask for the "Muslim-friendly service" when you book.
- Official tourism sites of Asahikawa (including Asahiyama Zoo), Hakodate, Niseko, Jozankei, Noboribetsu and Furano-Biei mention no halal food or prayer rooms (checked 1 Oct 2026). Don't expect to find them on the day.
- Halal groceries: none could be confirmed in Hokkaido. Bring snacks and instant food from home or Tokyo, and read the konbini label.
- Staying in Sapporo? Hotels with a 24-hour prayer room and halal sets: Sapporo hotels for Muslim families.
The full map (paid): the Hokkaido chapter has 22 places (Sapporo, New Chitose, Otaru, Niseko, Furano, Asahikawa, Hakodate), out of 231 places in 19 prefectures — each with its official source and check date. See it here.
Status can change: confirm at the shop before you order.
Links in this article may be affiliate links (Trip.com, Klook). The price you pay doesn't change.
Sources
- Official sites of Taj Mahal Group (Our Story), Otaru Kourakuen (Muslim page), Farm Tomita, Sapporo Masjid (Hokkaido Islamic Society) — checked 1 October 2026
- Hokkaido Airports: prayer room pages for New Chitose, Asahikawa and Hakodate — checked 1 October 2026
- Official tourism sites of Asahikawa, Hakodate, Niseko, Jozankei, Noboribetsu, Furano-Biei; NAHA and Japan Halal Association lists — checked 1 October 2026
- Klook tour price: checked 9 October 2026
Book for this trip
Affiliate links may be used; your price doesn't change.
- Hotels in Sapporo for 2 adults + 2 kids (filter "Free cancellation"): Sapporo family hotels on Trip.com
- Winter day tour from Sapporo (Asahiyama Zoo, Ningle Terrace), from RM194.15 (checked 9 Oct 2026): tour on Klook
- Free: "Read a Japanese food label in 60 seconds" — get it here