One Day in Kyoto for Muslim Families (2026): Hour by Hour — Prayer Rooms, Closing Times & Halal Food
Checked 2026-11-04 · Updated 2026-11-04
Checked 4 Nov 2026 on the official pages of Kyoto Travel (Kyoto City Tourism Association), OAGARI, SHINJUKU-TEI, Honolu Premier, GYUMON, Hotel Granvia Kyoto (Le Temps), the Kyoto Muslim Association and the National Astronomical Observatory of Japan (NAOJ). Yoshiya's site would not load on 4 Nov; Yoshiya details are from the 28 Sept 2026 check. Where an official page is silent, the table says "not stated". I read the label; you decide.
Short answer. A Kyoto day works in this order: Arashiyama in the morning (lunch and Zuhur at OAGARI, free prayer room with no booking, or Yoshiya, prayer room for diners 11:00–17:00) → Gion–Kawaramachi in the afternoon (Asr and dinner at SHINJUKU-TEI Gion, prayer room on site, 12:00–21:00) → Kyoto Station at night (Isha at Honolu Premier Kyoto Station South, a prayer room for 3 and 3 wudu stations, 10:00–22:00, 8 minutes from the Hachijo Exit). The catch is Maghrib: the sun sets in Kyoto at 16:45–17:00 right through November and December (NAOJ), and most free prayer spaces on Kyoto Travel's list close at 17:00–17:30. Kyoto Station has no prayer room in the official sources checked. Checked 4 Nov 2026.
231 places — halal food, prayer rooms and mosques — in 19 prefectures of Japan, each with its official source and check date. US$6.99, one-time, free updates. See the map →
1. The day, hour by hour
Prayer times shift every day. The table puts each prayer at a place that is open at that hour; check the day's prayer times in your app or calendar.
| Time (approx.) | Where | Prayer nearby (per source) | Halal food (status in the source's words) | Getting there |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 07:30–08:30 | Hotel → Kyoto Station | Fajr at your hotel. Kyoto Station: no prayer room on Kyoto Travel's list or the official pages checked | Le Temps, Hotel Granvia Kyoto 2F: café-restaurant certified by MPJA, opens 06:30. The 06:30–10:00 breakfast buffet is not described as halal; whether the halal menu is served at breakfast is not stated — call ahead | JR Sagano Line to Saga-Arashiyama, about 11 minutes (Rapid). The Sagano platform is further from the other lines; board from the back of the platform because the front cars are crowded (Kyoto Travel) |
| 08:30–10:30 | Arashiyama (Togetsukyo, bamboo grove) | — | Most halal places in Arashiyama aren't open yet (OAGARI opens 10:30) | Saga-Arashiyama Station → Togetsukyo Bridge area about 8 minutes on foot (Kyoto Travel) |
| 10:30–12:30 | Arashiyama: lunch + Zuhur | OAGARI prayer room (31-7 Tenryuji Tsukurimichi-cho, Ukyo-ku): free, no booking, with a foot-washing area; opening hours and men/women split not stated. Yoshiya prayer room (31 Sagatenryuji Tsukurimichicho): 11:00–17:00, restaurant guests only, tatami room, wash basin with running water for wudu (Kyoto Travel). Separate rooms for men and women (Yoshiya's site, 28 Sept 2026) | OAGARI Arashiyama (wagyu volcano): the official page lists halal-compatible options ("halal taio") and halal beef; certification not stated. 10:30–18:30, last order 18:00, open every day. Yoshiya (shabu-shabu, sukiyaki): Kyoto Halal Council certification (Yoshiya's site, 28 Sept 2026; Halal Navi); restaurant hours not verified | Zuhur starts after solar noon: 11:41 (4 Nov) to 12:00 (31 Dec) in Kyoto (NAOJ) |
| 12:30–14:00 | Arashiyama → Kawaramachi | — | — | Hankyu: Arashiyama → change at Katsura → Kyoto-Kawaramachi (route from Kyoto Travel; minutes not stated). Buses from Kyoto Station: "crowded" and "time-consuming" (Kyoto Travel) |
| 14:00–16:30 | Gion · Kawaramachi · Kiyomizu: Asr | SHINJUKU-TEI Gion (B1-D Gion Building, 288 Gionmachi Kitagawa): "Prayer Room Available", 12:00–21:00. Every branch has a wudu area and prayer space, free to use (chain's halal policy page). SHINJUKU-TEI Kiyomizu (148 Hoshino-cho): prayer room, 12:00–20:00. Yumeyakata Oike Bettei (kimono rental, 472-1 Kinpukicho, Nakagyo-ku): 10:00–19:00, 1–5 people, prayer mat and qibla, wudu at the sink | SHINJUKU-TEI Gion / Kiyomizu (wagyu ramen): "Every bowl is Halal-certified", no pork or alcohol; certifying body not named. May close early if sold out | Asr time: check the day's prayer times (no daily timetable on the official pages checked) |
| 16:30–17:30 | Gion: Maghrib | Kyoto sunset: 17:00 (4 Nov), 16:55 (10 Nov), 16:49 (20 Nov), 16:45 (1–10 Dec), 16:49 (20 Dec) (NAOJ). Still open at that hour: SHINJUKU-TEI Gion (to 21:00), Yumeyakata Oike Bettei (to 19:00), kokoka (to 21:00, closed Mondays) | — | Look at the closing list in §2 before you leave Arashiyama |
| 17:30–19:30 | Gion · Kiyamachi: dinner | SHINJUKU-TEI Gion (prayer room inside) | SHINJUKU-TEI Gion (12:00–21:00). WAGYU SUKIYAKI HALRA (1F Merge Kiyamachi, Kiyamachi-dori Shijo-agaru): Halal Gourmet Japan lists "Halal Certified" and no alcoholic drinks, 10:00–22:30 daily (HGJ Verified Sept 2026); Halal Navi says "declared halal by the operator". No official HALRA site found | Gion → Kyoto Station: minutes not stated in the sources checked |
| 19:30–21:30 | Kyoto Station (Hachijo Exit): Isha | Honolu Premier Kyoto Station South: prayer room for 3 people side by side, 3 wudu stations; restaurant 10:00–22:00, irregular holidays | Honolu Premier: "halal-certified restaurant", certifying body not named; 8-minute walk from the Hachijo Exit. GYUMON Kyoto (ramen and gyukatsu, "A5 Halal Wagyu"): 12:00–22:00, 8 minutes from Kyoto Station, last order not stated. Le Temps 2F: dinner to 22:00 (last order 21:00) | Back to the hotel. If Honolu is on one of its irregular days off, pray at the hotel |
Sources: Kyoto Travel, free prayer spaces and the Arashiyama access page (4 Nov 2026); official pages of OAGARI, SHINJUKU-TEI, Honolu Premier, GYUMON and Le Temps (4 Nov 2026); Halal Gourmet Japan, HALRA (4 Nov 2026); Yoshiya's site (28 Sept 2026); NAOJ sun tables for Kyoto, Nov and Dec 2026 (4 Nov 2026).
2. Closing times: what shuts first
Sorted by closing time. Every prayer space here is free unless marked "guests only" or "ticket needed".
| Closes | Place | Area | Conditions (per source) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 17:00 | Yoshiya prayer room | Arashiyama | Restaurant guests only; opens 11:00 |
| 17:00 (last entry 16:00) | Nijo Castle | Nakagyo-ku | Admission ticket needed; ask at the castle office. Opens 08:45 |
| 17:00 (last entry 16:30) | Kyoto International Manga Museum | Karasuma Oike | Admission ticket needed; no dedicated room, a vacant room on request |
| 17:30 (last entry 16:00) | Yumeyakata Gojo | 353 Shiogamacho, Shimogyo-ku | 1–5 people, prayer mat and qibla, wudu at the sink |
| 18:30 (last order 18:00) | OAGARI Arashiyama (restaurant) | Arashiyama | Prayer room next door: hours not stated |
| 19:00 | Kyoto Handicraft Center | Sakyo-ku | Ask at the information counter (West building, 1F); vacant room on request |
| 19:00 | Yumeyakata Oike Bettei | Nakagyo-ku | 1–5 people, prayer mat and qibla, wudu at the sink |
| 20:00 | SHINJUKU-TEI Kiyomizu | Higashiyama-ku | Prayer room; may close early if sold out |
| 21:00 | SHINJUKU-TEI Gion | Gion | Prayer room; may close early if sold out |
| 21:00 | kokoka (Kyoto International Community House) | Sakyo-ku | Small room, up to 5 people, no booking. Closed Mondays |
| 22:00 | Honolu Premier Kyoto Station South | Kyoto Station (Hachijo) | Room for 3, 3 wudu stations; irregular holidays |
Sources: Kyoto Travel, "Free Spaces for Muslims to Perform Prayers" (4 Nov 2026), and each place's official page (4 Nov 2026). Separate men/women spaces: not stated for any place in this table except Yoshiya (Yoshiya's site, 28 Sept 2026).
3. Prayer times: what can be pinned down
- No daily prayer timetable on the Kyoto Muslim Association or Kyoto Travel pages checked (4 Nov 2026). Check the day's times in your app or calendar.
- What NAOJ does give (Japan's official sun tables for Kyoto): solar noon at 11:41–11:45 in November and 11:46–12:00 in December; sunset at 16:46–17:00 in November and 16:45–16:55 in December. Zuhur begins after solar noon; Maghrib at sunset.
- What that means for the plan: if you are still in Arashiyama or at Nijo Castle at 16:30, the prayer spaces there close at 17:00. Plan Maghrib in Gion (SHINJUKU-TEI) or near the station (Honolu Premier).
- Qibla in Kyoto: 69 degrees anticlockwise from true north (Kyoto Travel). Hotels on Kyoto Travel's "Muslim Friendly" list can lend a compass.
4. If your Kyoto day is a Friday
- Masjid Kyoto (Kyoto Muslim Association): Miyagaki-cho 92, Riverside Kojinguchi 1F, Kamigyo-ku. Jumu'ah in three sessions: adhan 12:15 / 12:45 / 13:15, salat 12:30 / 13:00 / 13:35. Space for sisters is limited on Fridays. Toilets and wudu places are separate for men and women (KMA official page, 4 Nov 2026).
- Kyoto Travel lists the mosque as open Tuesday–Saturday 12:00–18:00, closed Sunday, with Friday prayers at 12:30, 13:00 and 13:30 "for men only" (4 Nov 2026). The two sources differ on sisters: go by the KMA page and call first (+81-75-231-3499).
- On a Friday, reshuffle: Arashiyama in the morning, Masjid Kyoto at midday, Gion in the afternoon.
5. Five things that change the plan
- The JR Sagano Line is crowded. Kyoto Travel itself calls it fast but crowded; board from the back. A less crowded route: subway Karasuma Line → Tozai Line → Randen to Arashiyama (minutes not stated).
- "Sold out" means closed. Both SHINJUKU-TEI Kyoto branches say they may close early if they sell out. Don't make one shop your only Maghrib plan; keep Honolu Premier or kokoka as a fallback.
- Irregular holidays. Honolu Premier has no fixed day off; its FAQ asks you to check before going.
- Guests-only prayer rooms. Yoshiya's room is for restaurant guests. OAGARI's room is free for anyone.
- A halal menu in a regular restaurant. Le Temps is MPJA-certified, but the restaurant also serves alcohol; order from the halal menu (Kyoto hotels for Muslim families).
6. Could not confirm (4 Nov 2026)
- Yoshiya: the official site would not load on 4 Nov. The Kyoto Halal Council certification and separate men's/women's rooms are from the 28 Sept 2026 check; restaurant hours not verified.
- Kyoto Station: no prayer room in the sources checked (Kyoto Travel, 4 Nov 2026; Kyoto Tower floor guide and Hotel Granvia, 15 Oct 2026). If a new one has opened, those official pages don't say so.
- OAGARI prayer room: opening hours and men/women split not stated.
- HALRA: no official site found; hours and status are from Halal Gourmet Japan (HGJ Verified Sept 2026).
- SHINJUKU-TEI and Honolu Premier: neither names its halal certifying body on its own page. Last order not stated.
- Travel times Arashiyama → Kawaramachi and Gion → Kyoto Station: not stated in the sources checked.
- Yumeyakata: the shop's own pages returned 404; details are from Kyoto Travel's list.
Full reading: halal food in Kyoto (15 places) · Kyoto hotels for Muslim families · 7-day December itinerary.
Halal status can change: confirm at the restaurant before eating. I read the label; you decide.
When an official page changes, this article is updated.
Links in this article may be affiliate links (Trip.com, Klook). The price you pay does not change.
Sources
All checked 4 November 2026 unless stated. Next check: 4 December 2026.
| # | Source | Used for | URL | Checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Kyoto Travel, Free Spaces for Muslims to Perform Prayers | Masjid Kyoto, kokoka, Manga Museum, Nijo Castle, Kyoto Handicraft Center, Yumeyakata Gojo and Oike Bettei, Yoshiya prayer room: address, hours, conditions, wudu | https://kyoto.travel/en/muslim/free-spaces-for-muslims-to-perform-prayers/ | 4 Nov 2026 |
| 2 | Kyoto Travel, For Muslim Travelers | Qibla 69 degrees; compasses at Muslim Friendly hotels | https://kyoto.travel/en/muslim/ | 4 Nov 2026 |
| 3 | Kyoto Travel, access to Saga-Arashiyama | JR Sagano about 11 min (Rapid), 8 min to Togetsukyo, crowding, Hankyu and Randen routes | https://kyoto.travel/en/info/transportation/saga_arashiyama.html | 4 Nov 2026 |
| 4 | OAGARI, Arashiyama Muslim Prayer Room | Free, no booking, foot-washing area | https://oagari.com/arashiyama-muslimprayerroom/ | 4 Nov 2026 |
| 5 | OAGARI Arashiyama, shop page | 10:30–18:30, last order 18:00, open daily, halal-compatible options | https://oagari.com/oagari-arashiyama/ | 4 Nov 2026 |
| 6 | Yoshiya, Halal Q&A | Kyoto Halal Council certification, separate prayer rooms | https://yoshiya-kyoto.jp/en/halalQA | 28 Sept 2026 (would not load 4 Nov) |
| 7 | Halal Navi, Halal Food in Kyoto 2026 | Yoshiya (Kyoto Halal Council), HALRA ("declared by the operator"), OAGARI | https://www.halal-navi.com/blog/en/halal-food-kyoto-2026-kyoto-station-gion-arashiyama/ | 2 Aug 2026 |
| 8 | SHINJUKU-TEI Gion Kyoto | 12:00–21:00, prayer room, no pork or alcohol | https://www.halal-shinjukutei.com/gion-kyoto | 4 Nov 2026 |
| 9 | SHINJUKU-TEI Kiyomizu | 12:00–20:00, prayer room | https://www.halal-shinjukutei.com/kiyomizu-store | 4 Nov 2026 |
| 10 | SHINJUKU-TEI, Halal Policy | Wudu area and prayer space at every branch | https://www.halal-shinjukutei.com/halal-policy | 4 Nov 2026 |
| 11 | Halal Gourmet Japan, WAGYU SUKIYAKI HALRA Kyoto | Halal Certified, no alcohol, 10:00–22:30, address | https://halalgourmet.jp/restaurant/793117 | 4 Nov 2026 |
| 12 | Honolu Premier Kyoto Station South, home and FAQ | Prayer room for 3, 3 wudu stations, "halal-certified", 8 min from Hachijo Exit, irregular holidays | https://honolu-premier-kyotostationsouth.com/en/faq/ | 4 Nov 2026 |
| 13 | Honolu Premier Kyoto Station South, store information | 10:00–22:00 | https://honolu-premier-kyotostationsouth.com/en/shopinfo/ | 4 Nov 2026 |
| 14 | GYUMON Kyoto | 12:00–22:00, 8 min from Kyoto Station, "A5 Halal Wagyu" | https://gyumon-group.com/shop/ramen-kyoto-ekimae/ | 4 Nov 2026 |
| 15 | Hotel Granvia Kyoto, Le Temps | 2F, opening hours and last order, MPJA certification | https://jrwest-hotels.jp/granvia-kyoto/restaurant/letemps/ | 4 Nov 2026 |
| 16 | Kyoto Muslim Association, Juma | Friday prayer times, sisters' space, separate wudu, address | https://www.kyotomuslims.net/juma.html | 4 Nov 2026 |
| 17 | NAOJ, Kyoto sun table, November 2026 | Sunrise, solar noon, sunset | https://eco.mtk.nao.ac.jp/koyomi/dni/2026/s2711.html | 4 Nov 2026 |
| 18 | NAOJ, Kyoto sun table, December 2026 | Solar noon, sunset | https://eco.mtk.nao.ac.jp/koyomi/dni/2026/s2712.html | 4 Nov 2026 |
Book for this trip
Affiliate links may be used; your price doesn't change.
- Kyoto hotels for 2 adults + 2 children, 7–11 Dec: Trip.com showed RM632–1,196 a night (checked 15 Oct 2026, breakdown): Kyoto hotel search on Trip.com
- Hotel Granvia Kyoto (above Kyoto Station, MPJA-certified Le Temps), 7–11 Dec, RM665 a night (checked 15 Oct 2026): see it on Trip.com
- Kyoto subway + bus 1-day ticket (rated 4.5, checked 15 Oct 2026; price as shown on the day you open it): on Klook
- Free: the "Read a Japanese food label in 60 seconds" sheet — sign up here
Before you fly: Map of 231 halal places & prayer rooms (US$6.99) — December Edition, 15 Nov.