Conveyor-Belt Sushi in Japan for Muslim Families (2026): Sushiro, Kura, Hama, Kappa — Prices, Ingredients & Prayer Rooms
Checked 2026-11-02 · Updated 2026-11-02
Checked 2 Nov 2026. Everything below comes only from the chains' official pages (menus, allergen tables, FAQs, press releases); blogs and reviews were not used as evidence. Where an official page doesn't say something, we write "not listed on the official site". The labels are read for you; the decision is yours.
Short answer. At Sushiro, Kura Sushi, Hama Sushi and Kappa Sushi, no official site mentions halal certification, and none says whether the soy sauce, sauces or sushi rice contain alcohol. The fish itself is not the issue for many families; the seasonings and the frying oil are. Hama says plainly that its frying oil is shared. Plates start at ¥110 (≈ RM2.84) at Kura, Hama and Kappa and ¥120 (≈ RM3.10) at Sushiro; city-centre branches can cost more. Checked 2 November 2026.
Why now: 1 November is "Sushi Day" in Japan, set in 1961 by the national federation of sushi shops (Zensuren), per JAL SKYWARD+. Malaysian families keep asking which chain is "safest". The table below does not rate taste. It rates price and how much the official sites actually tell you.
231 places — halal food, prayer rooms and mosques — in 19 prefectures of Japan, each with its official source and check date. US$6.99, one-time, free updates. See the map →
1. Tier list: price and official information (not taste)
How we scored: cheapest plate ¥110 = 2 points, ¥120 = 1 point. Plus 1 point each for: (a) an allergen table dated 2026, (b) sushi rice and soy sauce listed as rows in the allergen table, (c) the official site says frying oil is shared, (d) the official site names the touch-panel languages, (e) a kids' prize is mentioned on the official site. Maximum 7. S = 6 or more, A = 4–5, B = 3, C = 2 or less.
| Tier | Chain | Cheapest plate (tax included) | Points | Why, in one line |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| S | Kura Sushi | ¥110 (some branches ¥115, ¥125, ¥145) | 6 | Allergen table of 30 Oct 2026 lists sushi rice and soy sauce; 4-language panel; Bikkura-pon game every 5 plates |
| A | Sushiro | ¥120 (Akihabara Ekimae ¥150) | 4 | Touch panel in English, Chinese, Korean; allergen table 22 Oct 2026; soy sauce not in the table |
| A | Kappa Sushi | ¥110 (city branches differ) | 4 | Allergen table 27 Jul 2026; kids' menu with a capsule-toy coin; table soy sauce excluded from the allergen table |
| B | Hama Sushi | ¥110 (city branches differ) | 3 | The only one that says frying oil is shared; allergen page dated 1 May 2023; panel languages not stated |
| — | Genki Sushi / Uobei | — | not rated | Official site could not be read without a browser on 2 Nov 2026 |
Checked 2 Nov 2026, official sources (source table below). No chain landed in tier C this time.
2. Five things in one table
| Chain | Sushi plate prices (from the official menu) | Languages | Sushi rice, soy sauce, mirin, sauces: what the official site says | For kids | Halal |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sushiro | From ¥120 (English site). Akihabara Ekimae menu: nigiri ¥150–¥390 | Touch panel: English, Chinese (simplified), Korean. App is multilingual | Allergen table has a row for sushi rice (no allergens marked) and pickled ginger; no row for table soy sauce. Alcohol not listed | Kake udon ¥260, fries ¥220 (Akihabara Ekimae); child seats and nappy-changing tables (FAQ) | Not mentioned on the official site |
| Kura Sushi | "¥110" branches: nigiri ¥110–¥380. There are also ¥115, ¥125 and ¥145 branches | Order panel in 4 languages (2020 press release, Asakusa ROX; languages not named). Site: English, Chinese, Korean | Allergen table has rows for sushi rice (mixed vinegar), soy sauce and sweet sauce. Sushi vinegar: rice vinegar + salt, "free of the 4 major additives". Alcohol not listed | Dashi udon ¥250, fries ¥210; Bikkura-pon prize game every 5 plates; sushi served without wasabi; box seats | Not mentioned on the official site |
| Hama Sushi | Nigiri ¥110–¥319 | Site: English, Chinese. Panel languages not stated | Allergen page: "condiments you add yourself are not included"; "frying oil is shared"; noodles cooked in the same equipment. Alcohol not listed | Kake udon ¥242, fries ¥242; child seats at every branch (FAQ) | Not mentioned on the official site |
| Kappa Sushi | Standard nigiri ¥110–¥462 | Web menu: English, Chinese, Korean. Panel languages not stated | Allergen table: "condiments you choose (soy sauce, Tabasco) and sauces are not included". Alcohol not listed | Kake udon ¥209 (weekdays), small fries ¥209, kids' udon ¥297 with a capsule-toy coin; sushi without wasabi | Not mentioned on the official site |
| Genki Sushi / Uobei | Not checked | Not checked | Not checked | Not checked | Not checked |
In ringgit (¥100 = RM2.580, ECB 30 Oct 2026; prices checked 2 Nov 2026): a ¥110 plate ≈ RM2.84 · ¥120 ≈ RM3.10 · ¥150 ≈ RM3.87. A family eating 20 plates: ¥2,200 ≈ RM56.76 at a ¥110 branch, ¥2,400 ≈ RM61.92 at a ¥120 Sushiro, ¥3,000 ≈ RM77.40 at Sushiro Akihabara Ekimae. Between ¥110 and ¥120 the gap for 20 plates is only ¥200 (≈ RM5.16), so choose on information, not price.
3. 4 traps before you sit down
- Alcohol is not an allergen, so it is not in the tables. All four allergen tables follow Japan's 28 legal allergen items, and alcohol is not one of them. "No mark" does not mean no mirin or sake. All four official menus also sell beer or sake. At the counter, show this line:
醤油やたれにアルコールは入っていますか?(Does this soy sauce or sauce contain alcohol?) - Pork is on the same menu. The allergen tables have a
豚肉(pork) column and aゼラチン(gelatin) column, and every chain sells pork plates: Sushiro焼豚にぎり, Kura豚カルビ, Hama豚塩カルビandとん汁soup, Kappa's teriyaki hamburger (pork marked). Check that column before you tap "order", and don't take plates off the belt that you did not order. - Frying oil and equipment are shared. Hama states its frying oil is shared; Sushiro, Kura and Kappa say other ingredients can get mixed in during in-store cooking. If your family avoids food fried in the same oil as pork, stick to raw-fish nigiri or boiled dishes, not tempura or fries.
- Prices depend on the branch. Sushiro says "From 120 yen", but its Akihabara Ekimae branch starts at ¥150. Kura has 4 price levels (¥110 to ¥145). Hama and Kappa say city branches are priced differently. Check the branch menu on the official site before you go (prices checked 2 Nov 2026).
4. Could not be verified (2 Nov 2026)
- Genki Sushi and Uobei: the official site is built in JavaScript and could not be read without a browser; no prices or allergen tables were checked. Not rated.
- Malay or Indonesian on the touch panel: not mentioned on any chain's official site.
- Hama's and Kappa's panel languages: not stated (their websites have English).
- Whether the sushi rice or soy sauce contains alcohol: not stated by any chain.
5. Prayer rooms and halal food nearby
These chains have branches across Tokyo and Osaka, including near the big stations. Prayer rooms by area, checked on official pages: Prayer rooms in Tokyo · Prayer rooms in Osaka. If you want sushi with halal seasonings, the Kyoto list includes a sushi shop listed with halal seasonings: Halal food near Kyoto Station. How to read Japan's 3 kinds of "halal" label: The 3 halal labels.
When an official page changes, this article is updated.
Links in this article may be affiliate links (Trip.com). Your price doesn't change; it helps me keep checking these lists.
Sources
All checked 2 November 2026. Next check: 2 December 2026 (prices, allergen table dates, Genki Sushi).
| # | Source | Used for | URL |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Sushiro, allergen table (updated 22 Oct 2026) | 28 allergens, pork and gelatin columns, sushi rice row | https://www3.akindo-sushiro.co.jp/pdf/menu/allergy.pdf |
| 2 | Sushiro, FAQ | Multilingual app, child seats, kids' coin | https://www.akindo-sushiro.co.jp/faq/ |
| 3 | Sushiro, English site | "From 120 yen (including tax) per plate", touch-panel languages | https://www.akindo-sushiro.co.jp/en/ |
| 4 | Sushiro, Akihabara Ekimae branch menu | Nigiri, udon, fries and drink prices | https://www.akindo-sushiro.co.jp/menu/menu_detail/?s_id=849 |
| 5 | Kura Sushi, menu | ¥110/¥115/¥125/¥145 price levels, nigiri, udon, fries | https://www.kurasushi.co.jp/menu/ |
| 6 | Kura Sushi, allergen table (30 Oct 2026) | Sushi rice, soy sauce, sweet sauce rows; pork and gelatin columns | https://www.kurasushi.co.jp/common/pdf/kura_allergen.pdf |
| 7 | Kura Sushi, how-to guide | Bikkura-pon every 5 plates, box seats | https://www.kurasushi.co.jp/fan/howto.php |
| 8 | Kura Sushi, quality page | Sushi vinegar, soy sauce, no wasabi | https://www.kurasushi.co.jp/quality/taste.php |
| 9 | Kura Sushi, Asakusa ROX press release (2020) | 4-language order panel | https://www.kurasushi.co.jp/author/000691.html |
| 10 | Hama Sushi, menu | Nigiri, udon, fries, pork dishes | https://www.hama-sushi.co.jp/menu/ |
| 11 | Hama Sushi, allergens | Shared frying oil, condiments not included | https://www.hama-sushi.co.jp/menu/allergen/ |
| 12 | Hama Sushi, FAQ | Child seats, app queueing | https://www.hama-sushi.co.jp/contact/faq/ |
| 13 | Kappa Sushi, English menu | No wasabi, city branch prices differ | https://www.kappasushi.jp/menu2/en |
| 14 | Kappa Sushi, allergen table (27 Jul 2026) | Soy sauce and sauces excluded, pork and gelatin columns | https://www.kappasushi.jp/master_data/pdf/info_allergen.pdf |
| 15 | Genki Sushi | Could not be read without a browser | https://www.genkisushi.info/ |
| 16 | JAL SKYWARD+, Sushi Day | 1 November, set in 1961 | https://skywardplus.jal.co.jp/plus_one/calendar/sushiday/ |
Yen–ringgit rate: ECB via Frankfurter, 30 October 2026 (¥100 = RM2.580).
Book for this trip
Affiliate links may be used; your price doesn't change.
- Hotels in Tokyo for 2 adults + 2 children, live price on Trip.com on the day you open it; filter "free cancellation": family hotels in Tokyo on Trip.com
- Hotels in Namba, Osaka (near the Namba CITY prayer room), 2 adults + 2 children, live price on Trip.com: Namba hotels on Trip.com
- Free: "Read a Japanese food label in 60 seconds" — sign up here
Before you fly: Map of 231 halal places & prayer rooms (US$6.99) — December Edition, 15 Nov.